GET2020 wins the International Agency for the Prevention of Blindness’ Global Partnership Award

3 November 2016


The Trust is delighted that its partner the WHO Alliance for the Global Elimination of Trachoma by the year 2020 (GET2020) has received  a Global Partnership Award at the International Agency for the Prevention of Blindness 10th General Assembly for its work to rid the world of blinding trachoma. 

GET2020, established in 1996 by the WHO, is an international coalition of parties committed to and engaging in work to eliminate blinding trachoma by the year 2020. The Alliance includes endemic member States, non-governmental organisations, donors and academic institutions.

Along with our GET 2020 partners, the Trust is implementing the SAFE Strategy – Surgery for trichiasis, Antibiotics, Facial cleanliness, and Environmental improvement – in 11 Commonwealth countries, and strengthening the national capacity of countries to fight blinding trachoma.

In recognition of the Trust’s important role within the Alliance, our Chief Executive Dr Astrid Bonfield CBE was invited to collect the Award on behalf of GET 2020 with Dr Anthony Solomon, Medical Officer and Secretary GET2020, and Dr Serge Resnikoff, Vice-Chair of the International Coalition for Trachoma Control.

Upon receiving the award, Dr Bonfield said:

“I am absolutely delighted that the WHO Alliance for the Global Elimination of Trachoma has received the IAPB Global Partnership Award in recognition of its incredible efforts to rid the world of trachoma. In bringing together over 100 partners, including The Queen Elizabeth Diamond Jubilee Trust, from more than 58 countries to deliver the WHO recommended SAFE strategy, the GET2020 alliance is enabling and empowering the trachoma community to work together to eliminate the disease once and for all. GET2020 has helped so many under threat from the disease to retain their sight, and the exceptional progress being made is a true testament to the power of global partnership in combatting avoidable blindness. I wish congratulations to all involved.”